7-26(04)/2020-PAT Government of India Ministry of Communications Department of Telecommunications

1120, Sanchar Bhawan, 20-Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001 Dated: **29** /12/2023

CIRCULAR NO. 219

Sub.: Relaxation in LTC Rules- delegation of powers to Ministries/Departments regarding time limit for the submission of the claim-reg.

The undersigned is directed to forward herewith a copy of Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Personnel & Training Office Memorandum No. 31011/18/2023-Estt.(A-IV) dated 21.12.2023 on the subject cited above for information and necessary action.

Encl.: As above

ADG (PAT) / L.O. - US(STP) Phone: 23036245

Copy to:

- 1. PPS to Secretary (Telecom.).
- 2. PPS to Member(S)/Member(F)/Member(T).
- 3. PPS to Director General, Telecom/CGCA.
- 4. PPS to Additional Secretary(T).
- 5. All Advisors/DG(NTIPRIT)/Sr.DDG(TEC)/(NCCS).
- 6. The Chairman, TRAI.
- 7. All Heads of L.S.As/C.C.As.
- 8. CMD, BSNL/MTNL/TCIL/BBNL/ITI.
- 9. Executive Director, C-DOT/Dir., MO, New Delhi.
- 10. All DDGs/Directors of DoT.
- 11. PAO and all the concerned Sections, DoT, New Delhi.
- 12. SO (Pay Bill), DoT, Hq., Sanchar Bhavan, New Delhi.
- 13. OL Section for Hindi version.

F.No. 31011/18/2023-Estt.(A-IV) Government of India Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions Department of Personnel & Training Personnel Policy A-IV

North Block, New Delhi. Dated: December, 2023

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject:- Relaxation in LTC Rules - delegation of powers to Ministries/Departments regarding time limit for the submission of the claim - reg.

The undersigned is directed to refer to the subject cited above and to state that rules 14 and 15 of CCS(LTC) Rules, 1988 provide that a claim for reimbursement of expenditure incurred on journey under Leave Travel Concession is to be submitted within three months after the completion of the return journey, if no advance had been drawn and within one month after the completion of the return journey if advance had been drawn.

2. Vide DoPT's OM No. 31011/05/2007-Estt.(A) dated 27.09.2007 the above time-lines were relaxed and powers delegated to the Ministries / Departments to admit the claim of reimbursement in respect of LTC journey with the concurrence of the Financial Adviser without referring the matter to DoPT with the following time-lines:-

(a) Up to 6 months, if no advance is drawn; and

(b) Up to 3 months if the advance is drawn, provided the Government servant refunds the entire amount of advance (not merely the unutilized portion) within 45 days of completion of the return journey.

3. Now, in supersession of DoPT's OM No. 31011/05/2007-Estt.(A) dated 27.09.2007, it has been decided that the Ministries/ Departments with the concurrence of the Financial Advisers and subordinate/attached offices with the concurrence of Head of Department not below the rank of Joint Secretary, can admit the claim of reimbursement in respect of LTC journey without reference to DoPT with the following time-lines in such cases where a Government servant is not in position to submit the claim within the prescribed time-limit under rule 14 and 15 of CCS(LTC) Rules, 1988 and the Ministries/Departments/attached offices/subordinate offices are satisfied that he/she was not able to do so due to circumstances beyond his/her control:-

- i. Cases where no advance is drawn: Up to six months;
- ii. **Cases where advance is drawn:** Up to three months provided the entire advance amount is returned within three months subject to a clause that the entire amount would be recovered within one

lumpsum and interest will be charged on the entire amount of advance from the date of drawal to the date of recovery of amount.

4 . Ministries/Departments/attached offices/ subordinate offices are requested to keep these instructions in view while processing belated LTC claims.

5. These instructions are issued with the concurrence of D/o Expenditure and shall be effective from the date of issue of this O.M.

6. Hindi version will follow.

1223

(Satish Kumar) Under Secretary to the Government of India Tel: 2304 0341

То

All Secretaries of Ministries/ Departments of the Government of India (As per the standard list)

Copy to:

1. Comptroller & Auditor General of India, New Delhi.

2. Union Public Service Commission, New Delhi.

3. Central Vigilance Commission, New Delhi.

4. Central Bureau of Investigation, New Delhi.

5. Parliament Library, New Delhi.

6. All Union Territory Administrations.

7. Lok Sabha/ Rajya Sabha Secretariat.

8. All Attached and Subordinate Offices of Ministry of Personnel, P.G. & Pensions.

9. Hindi Section for Hindi version.
