(To be published in the Gazette of India, Part I, Section 1)

No. 2-3/2015-TCO

Government of India
Ministry of Communications and Information Technology
Department of Telecommunications

New Delhi, the 15 March, 2016

RESOLUTION

To promote rapid development in all aspects of telecommunications, the Telecom Commission was established by the Government of India vide Resolution dated 11th April, 1989. Before supersession of the Planning Commission, the Telecom Commission was composed of a Chairman [Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Telecommunications], four full time members [Member (Finance). Member (Production), Member (Services) & Member (Technology)] and four part time members [Secretary (Department of Electronics & Information Technology), Secretary (Department of Economic Affairs), Secretary (Planning Commission) & Secretary (Department of Industrial Policy & Promotion)]. After supersession of the Planning Commission and its replacement by the NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog, only three part time Members were left with the Telecom Commission. To lend value to the deliberations of the Telecom Commission, a need was being felt to introduce the Chief Executive Officer, NITI Aayog as its part-time Member because the NITI Aayog has been mandated to serve as a Think Tank of the Government.

2. The Government of India has accordingly decided to nominate the Chief Executive Officer, NITI (National Institution for Transforming India) Aayog as a part-time Member of the Telecom Commission in place of Secretary, Planning Commission.

(Shashi Ranjan Kumar)

Joint Secretary to the Government of India

ORDER

ORDERED that a copy of the Resolution be communicated to all Ministries/Departments of the Government of India and the others concerned for information

ORDERED also that the Resolution be published in the Gazette of India for general information

To,
The Manager,
Government of India Press,
Faridabad

1

New Delhi, the 15 March, 2016

Copy forwarded to:-

1 All Members of the Telecom Commission

- 2. All Ministries/Departments of the Government of India
- 3. All Attached/Subordinate Offices and Autonomous Bodies under Department of Telecommunications
- 4. President's Secretariat, New Delhi
- 5. Prime Minister's Office, South Block, New Delhi
- 6. Cabinet Secretariat, Rashtrapati Bhawan, New Delhi
- 7. Lok Sabha Secretariat, Parliament House, New Delhi
- 8. Rajya Sabha Secretariat, Parliament House, New Delhi

9. Guard File

(Shashi Ranjan Kumar)

hui 6/3/2016

Joint Secretary to the Government of India