MOST IMMEDIATE

16- 16 /O&M/2014
Government of India
Ministry of Communications & IT
Department of Telecommunications
Sanchar Bhavan, 20, Ashoka Road, New Delhi-110001

dated 28/4/2014.

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Subject: Pamphlet on "Subjects for which the various Ministers are responsible for answering questions in the Rajya Sabha".

The undersigned is directed to refer to Rajya Sabha Secretariat's O.M No. RS.8/SP/2014/Q dated 24/3/2014 on the subject mentioned above, and to forward herewith the updated matter in r/o this Department for incorporation in the revised edition of the Subject Pamphlet 2014. This matter has the approval of Minister of Communications & Information Technology. Hindi version will be sent very shortly.

2. This has the approval of MoC&IT.

(Ranjan Kumar)

Deputy Secretary (CDN)

Ph No. 2303-6073

Fax No. 23372279

Encl: as above.

To

.Sh. Pradeep Chaturvedi Director Rajya Sabha Secretariat Parliament House/Annexe New Delhi – 110001

NOO: Dir (IT-II), DoT HQrs - for updating the "Objectives of DoT".

Hindi Section; for Hindi version

MINISTRY OF COMMUNICATIONS & IT (SANCHAR AUR SOOCHNA PRAUDYOGIKI MANTRALAYA)

A. DEPARTMENT OF TELECOMMUNICATIONS (DOOR SANCHAR VIBHAG)

- (i) Policy, Licensing and Coordination matters relating to telegraphs, telephones, wireless, data, facsimile and telematic services and other like forms of communications.
 - (ii) Framing of rules, related to security of telecom networks and coordination with Security agencies.
 - (iii) Spectrum management and spectrum allocation.
- 2. Cooperation and Coordination with international bodies connected with telecommunications.
- 3. Promotion of standardisation, manufacturing, research and development in Telecommunications.
- 4. Promotion of private investment in Telecommunications.
- 5. Financial assistance for the furtherance of research and study in telecommunications technology and for building up adequately trained manpower for telecom programme, including assistance to institutions, assistance to scientific institutions and to universities for advanced scientific study and

research.

- 6. Telecom Commission.
- 7. Administration of laws with respect to any of the matters specified in this list, namely:
 - (a) The Indian Telegraph Act, 1885 (13 of 1885) and amendments from time to time.
 - (b) The Indian Wireless Telegraphy Act, 1933 (17 of 1933) and amendments from time to time.
 - (c) The Telecom Regulatory Authority of India Act, 1997 (24 of 1997) and amendments from time to time.

-141

- 8. Post disinvestment matters relating to M/s Hindustan Teleprinters Ltd.,
- Residual work relating to the erstwhile Department of Telecom Services and Department of Telecom Operations.

Cadre controlling functions of Group 'A' services of DoT and other categories personnel.

- 10. Statutory Bodies
 - (i) Telecom Regulatory Authority of India (TRAI)
 - (ii) Telecom Disputes Settlement and Appellate Tribunal (TDSAT)
- 11. (a) Attached Offices
 - (i) Telecom Engineering Centre (TEC)
 - (ii) Universal Service Obligation Fund (USOF)
 - (b) Subordinate Office

Wireless Monitoring Organisation (WMO)

- 12. (a) Public Sector Undertakings (PSUs)
 - (i) Bharat Sanchar Nigam Ltd., (BSNL)
 - (ii) Mahanagar Telephone Nigam Limited (MTNL)
 - (iii) Telecommunications Consultants (India) Limited (TCIL)
 - (iv) Indian Telephone Industries(ITI)
 - (v) Bharat Broadband Network Limited (BBNL)
 - (b) Autonomous Bodies

Centre for Development of Telematics (C-DoT)

- 13. Field Offices
 - (i) 26 Controller of Communication Accounts (CCAs) offices all over

India

(ii) 32 Telecom Enforcement Resource Management Cells all over India.