## **Department of Telecommunications**

## **Press Release**

Date: 30<sup>th</sup> November 2007

## **Third Meeting of Committee on Allocation of Spectrum**

The Committee, constituted by the Government to recommend revised subscriber based Spectrum allocation criterion for allocation of spectrum in a scientific and practical manner, met for whole day on 30.11.2007 for the third meeting under the chairmanship of Shri R. Bandhopadhyay, Additional Secretary (Telecom), Department of Telecommunications. All the members of the Committee namely, Dr.Bhaskar Ramamurti, IIT Chennai; Dr. Ajit Kumar Chaturvedi, IIT Kanpur; Shri P.K. Garg, Wireless Advisor; Shri Vijay Madan, ED, C-DOT; Shri Dilip Sahay, AUSPI; Shri T.V. Ramachandran, COAI; Shri A.K. Srivastava, DDG(AS), DOT were present in the meeting. Presentations were made by the representatives of the following companies/groups on their views before the committee on the issue of allocation of spectrum.

- 1. Telecom Engineering Centre
- 2. M/s. Spice Communications Ltd.
- 3. MTNL

BSNL has informed that they have no additional input for the Committee. The next meeting of the Committee shall be held on 5<sup>th</sup> and 6<sup>th</sup> December 2007.

(A.K. Srivastava)
DDG(AS)
Dept. of Telecom

To, Mrs. Radhakrishnan,
Director(M&C)
PIB, Patel Bhawan,
New Delhi.

File No.20-163/2007-AS-I

Dated 30.11.2007

Copy to: DDG(C&A): The above Press Release may kindly be uploaded on DOT website immediately.