## Minutes of First National Preparatory Committee for WRC 2023 (NPC)

First E-meeting of National Preparatory Committee for WRC 2023 (NPC) was held on 08.02.2022. Wireless Adviser, Chaired the meeting. The meeting opened with welcome remarks from Conference section, WPC Wing. This meeting was attended by officers of WPC Wing and WMO. List of participants is enclosed at Annexure.

- 2. Thereafter, Wireless Adviser (WA) welcomed all the participants of the meeting and introduced Shri V. J. Christopher, JWA WPC Wing as Chairman for NPC for WRC-2023. In his opening address he emphasized on the importance of WPC Wing in carrying out the responsibility of International Radio Spectrum management both at ITU and at regional level in Asia pacific Telecommunity (APT). Indian contributions for important ITU and APT meetings shall keep on addressing the concerns of telecom industry and provide an accelerating path.
- 2.1 Wireless Adviser also shared the importance of the work done by previous NPCs, stakeholder satisfaction w.r.t outcomes of WRC-19, important items for WRC-23 and given directives to carry the assigned tasks of NPC forward. It is mentioned that National Preparatory Committee for WRC 2023 shall deliberate on all agenda items for WRC 2023 and regularly interact with stakeholders from telecom industry, academia, Government departments such as Defence, Broadcasting, Department of Space etc. WA further that key agenda items of WRC 2023 include topics such as addressing needs of fixed and mobile broadband services, Unmanned Aerial Vehicles, regulatory provisions for aeronautical and maritime services which are critical for safety of life, High Altitude Platform Stations and regulatory provisions for Satellite services.
- 3. Shri V.J. Christopher, JWA, WPC Wing, Chairman NPC for WRC-23 greeted all participants and shared the tasks ahead for preparation of WRC 23. He also briefed about role of stakeholders, National Study Groups, ITU Study Groups, APG meetings and role of NPC in preparation for WRC cycle.
- 3.1 NPC will have five (05) Working Groups to deal with various agenda items of WRC-23, as approved by the competent authority. The nomination of five Working Groups Chairs was proposed in the meeting by NPC Chair. All five Working Group Chairs were welcomed by the NPC Chair and WG Chairs while accepting their nomination also provided their initial comments/suggestions on the way forward. Wireless Adviser approved the following names of five (05) NPC Working Group Chairs:

NPC WGs	Chairmen	Topics (WRC 2023 Agenda Items)
WG-1	Sh. MPS Alawa, Sr. DWA	Fixed, Mobile and Broadcasting issues
		(1.1, 1.2, 1.3, 1.4, 1.5, 9.1 (c), Article 21.5)
WG-2	Smt. M. Revathi, Sr. DWA	Aeronautical and maritime issues
		(1.6, 1.7, 1.8, 1.9, 1.10, 1.11)
WG-3	Sh. Ajay Singhal, Sr.DD	Science issues
		(1.12, 1.13, 1.14, 9.1(a) and 9.1 (d))
WG-4	Sh. M.K. Pattanaik, Sr. DWA	Satellite issues
		(1.15, 1.16, 1.17, 1.18, 1.19, 7)
WG-5	Sh. Anil K. Soni, Sr. DD	General issues (2, 4, 8, 9.1 (b) and 10)

4. AWA (Conference) briefed the meeting about the progress of ITU-R studies for WRC-23 agenda

items and the developments at APT Preparatory Group (APG) for WRC-23. The brief presentation

touched upon the overview of ITU-R calendar, summary of CPM Report preparation, concerned ITU-R

Working Parties, NPC milestones for WRC-23 as per upcoming major events of ITU-R and APG

meetings, CPM Report etc. Further, a quick glance was presented for all WRC-23 agenda items w.r.t. five NPC Working Groups with preliminary APT views and probable areas of Indian interest. NPC Chair

commented that Working Groups shall build upon Indian views for WRC 23 agenda items and also look

into the progress of ITU-R studies and APG meetings.

Further, a tentative NPC meeting schedule was also discussed when it was suggested that NPC

may also have to finalise a detailed work plan for Working Groups and stakeholder meetings. This

meeting schedule will be further reviewed to incorporate the detailed work plan by the Conference

section.

The meeting was informed that progress of NPC work is also reported to PMO by DoT and

Secretary (T) has desired an approach paper for preparation of WRC-23. It was therefore felt that it is

important to adhere to the time schedule.

Next meeting of NPC is scheduled in March 2022 which would meet with all concerned

stakeholders to review progress of ITU-R studies, outcome of 3rd APG meeting and preparation for 4th

APG meeting. It was also discussed that outcomes of APG meetings would be shared with NPC

Working Groups by Conference section and Working Groups shall begin their work.

Finally, it was discussed that an internal meeting with NPC Working Groups would be scheduled to 8.

crystallize the preliminary views of NPC on all agenda items before the March 2022 meeting of NPC.

Meeting ended with thanks to the Chair. 9.

(S/d)

Date: 10.02.2022

(Sachin Kumar)

Place: New Delhi

AWA (Conference), WPC Wing, DoT

Email: sachin.kumar46@gov.in

Phone: +91 9560062988

Enclosures:

1. Opening Address by Wireless Adviser

2. Meeting Presentation

3. Annexure- List of Participants

## List of Participants

S. No.	Name (Sh./Smt.)	Designation
1.	R. K. Saxena	Wireless Adviser (Meeting Chair)
2.	Dinesh Jha	JWA, WPC
3.	V. J. Christhopher	JWA, WPC (NPC Chair)
4.	N. K. Bhola	JWA, WPC
5.	Viresh Goel	JWA, WPC
6.	Munesh Kumar	Sr. DD, WMO
7.	M. Revathi	Sr. DWA, WPC
		(WG-2: Aeronautical and Maritime
		Issues Chair)
8.	M. K. Pattanaik	Sr. DWA, WPC
		(WG-4: Satellite Issues Chair)
9.	Ram Lagan Ram	Sr. DWA, WPC
10.	M. P. S. Alawa	Sr. DWA, WPC
		(WG-1: Fixed, Mobile and Broadcasting
		Issues Chair)
11.	Anil Kumar Soni	Sr. DD, WMO
		(WG-5: General Issues Chair)
12.	Bhagirath	Sr. DWA, WPC
13.	Ajay Singhal	Sr. DD, WMO
		(WG-3: Science Issues Chair)
14.	Umang Srivastava	Sr. DWA, WPC
15.	L. D. Meghwal	Sr. DWA, WPC
16.	Tarun Choudhary	DD, WMO
17.	Ashim Dutta	DWA, WPC
18.	Anand kumar	DD, WMO
19.	K. Sarvanan	DD, WMO
20.	S. Ganeshan	DD, WMO
21.	K. Shanti	DD, WMO
22.	Manish Sheelwant	DWA, WPC
23.	Khagendra Singh	DWA, WPC
24.	Rajiv K. Nagaich	AWA, WPC
25.	R.C. Malik	AWA, WPC
26.	Ramesh Chandra Kota	AWA, WPC
27.	Neeraj Juyal	AWA, WPC
28.	Gumma Rama Rao	AWA, WPC
29.	K.Radhika	AWA, WPC
30.	P.S. Shekhawat	E-i-C, WMO
31.	Vineeth Kurien Mathew	AWA, WPC
32.	Sachin Kumar	AWA, WPC
33.	Arun Kumar	AWA, WPC
34.	Shitanshu Shekhar	AWA, WPC
35.	Avneesh Kumar	AWA, WPC